Meet Our Graduation Photographers, Part 1

As graduation season kicks off, we plan to bring you two blogs this week, each introducing you to one of our graduation photographers.

Today, we spoke with Rob Futcher, owner of Futcher Fotos, to get a behind-the-scenes look at what makes this photographer “click.”

Rob Futcher, Futcher Fotos Graduation Photographer

1. Why are you excited about taking graduation pictures?
My son is graduating, and a lot of kids I know are graduating as well. I really enjoy working with young people and getting shots that they and their parents would like. I want to make sure Adventist students have the chance to get their pictures taken professionally—no matter how large (or small) the graduating class is. Last year, we were asked to do graduation coverage at a couple Adventist schools. The response from the schools and the parents was fantastic. As we’re looking at the cost of academy for our son, we’re hoping the extra income will help ease the financial burden.

2. Tell me why Adventist education is something you value.
I’ve grown up in Adventist education. I appreciate the spirituality of our schools and the positive social atmosphere. It’s important to give kids a strong Adventist foundation before they face the “real world.” By serving schools in this capacity, I’m the third generation from my family to contribute to Adventist education.

3. When not taking graduation pictures, how do you spend your time?
In addition to running my own start-up photography business, I serve as the official photographer for Bowman Hills Church. I also am a staff member for the church’s Pathfinder club, were I take thousands of pictures each year. I like birding and gardening. Nature photography is my true passion. As soon as graduation season is over, I plan to start a new project where I will be creating art with my nature photography by adhering it to natural wood slabs.

4. Tell us a little about your family. 
I have a 15-year-old saxophone player who’s about to go to academy, an 8-year-old gymnast who is finishing second grade, and a gorgeous wife who is the soul of our family. 

5. What would you most like our clients to know about you? 
I will do my best to get you fantastic pictures!

Leave a Reply

